Easiest Dinner Ever!

18 04 2011

So, it would make sense for a Monday post to recap all the wonderful things that I made in the kitchen this weekend. Especially when Saturday was RAINY!! BOO HOO! Well, my lovely blog friends, since returning from my trip to Chicago, I haven’t been grocery shopping. And what that means is that I didn’t do any cooking at all this weekend! What kind of food blogger am I anyhow?

Anyhow, I did eat some pretty delicious meals this weekend, including taco night at my friend Steph’s house, salad at Chop’t, burgers at Good Stuff Eatery, falafel sandwiches at the Amsterdam Falafel Shop, and an Indian Feast for two (Tandoori Chicken, Chicken Tikka, Seekh Kababs, Lamb Roganjosh OR Chicken Curry, Peas Pulao, Baigan Bharta, Saag Paneer, Paratha, and Raita) at Aroma, an Indian Restaurant in Shirlington, VA.

Here’s a few pics from my weekend:Taco bar toppings!

Spinach and paneer at Aroma!

Tandori Chicken!

Sometimes though, after a weekend of eating out, you just want something delicious and nutritious, easy and healthy to eat. So, here’s a SUPER easy meal you can make in minutes. I got this idea from this blog, after seeing the picture on Tastespotting.

Apple and Edamame Slaw:-)

Ingredients:

1 large apple, sliced into rough triangles (honeycrisp or fuji or similar)

1 1/2 cups brocco-slaw (or regular cabbage slaw)

1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

2-3 Tbsp Tahini

2 Tbsp seasoned rice vinegar

dried raisins, craisins, or similar

1 cup steamed edamame

salt/pepper to taste

How to:

1) Steam the edamame.

2) While its steaming, grab the broccoli slaw, and mix it in a bowl with the chopped apple, sunflower seeds, craisins, and any other mix ins you wish!

3) Stir together the rice vinegar and the tahini in a separate small bowl. Pour on top of the slaw mix and other ingredients.

4) Season with salt and pepper.

Easiest dinner ever! And it’s super delicious! I will definitely make this one again.

Question of the day: What’s your go-to quick and easy meal?


Actions

Information

5 responses

18 04 2011
DiningAndDishing

It does look like a very delish weekend indeed!

Salads and omelettes are my go-to meals. So versatile and easy to make in a pinch!

– Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

19 04 2011
321delish

Eggs are definitely an easy meal! And nutritious!

18 04 2011
Amy {Super Healthy Kids}

Mine is definitely pasta with broccoli and parmesan cheese. My kids love it and we make it a lot!

19 04 2011
321delish

Broccoli is one of my favorite veggies! Add cheese and its even better! Thanks for reading our blog!

18 04 2011
Katherine: Unemployed

ah yes; all good dinners involve mugs

Leave a comment